This carriage house was designed and built by Samuel McIntire, arguably America’s most important and prolific architect/craftsmen of the late 18th century. The carriage house was constructed in 1793 as a part of a much larger estate owned by Governor Christopher Gore and is a contributing building on this National Landmark site. In 1965 the carriage house was moved approximately 100 yards from its original location to make room for the widening of a nearby street, but the new site proved to be low and damp, causing deterioration to the building. As a part of a larger restoration and rehabilitation project, the building was moved back to its original location. The goal of the larger project was to restore the carriage house for event rentals supported by an addition housing handicapped accessible toilets, a catering kitchen, and a storage room. The addition for these new facilities was carefully designed to respect and be subsidiary to the original building and the connecting hyphen structure hardly touches the early fabric. The existing building now features newly restored and reconstructed horse stalls. The restored carriage room features large movable walls, allowing it to be converted to a larger space for weddings and other similar functions. The building is fully equipped with energy efficient mechanical and electrical systems as well as security, data, and fire suppression systems. All of these were designed to be carefully integrated into the historic fabric to ensure that the Samuel McIntire’s original space would predominate the visitor’s experience.